My first post / my first “mission”

Welcome to Rm. 35!

I am a high school math teacher in Mississippi.  My day is very busy:  I teach regular Algebra II, Accelerated Algebra II, Trig/Pre-Calculus, and AP Calculus.  I’m the only “upper-level” math teacher at my school.

I have ALWAYS wanted to be a teacher.  My mother says I came home from the first day of pre-school (which only lasted half a day) and said I wanted to be a teacher.  Of course, it wasn’t until I took Algebra II (from a teacher that taught my parents!) that I decided I wanted to be a math teacher. 

I enjoy teaching at my school.  I love inspiring the students!  Parents want their kids in my class and I’ve even had students request to be in my class.  They know that I will prepare them for college.  When students are asked if I’m “mean”, they say I’m not but I’m strict.

Why did I name my blog “Smiling in Rm. 35”?  The kids HATE when I smile!  When I smile, they know I’m up to something!  And that something is usually fun for me, but “not” for them!  They know they will be working!  For instance, we may do a review activity like a relay race or scavenger hunt.  Little stress for me, lots of work for them!

I probably use more technology (for ideas, etc.) and more activities than most other teachers at my school.  I’m willing to look online for new ideas when it seems others don’t.  Sometimes, we “play” review games, but they don’t realize how much work they are doing at the time!

I have found lots of ideas by just looking online.  I’ve subscribed to several math blogs and love reading what other people are doing.  Sometimes, I do feel like there are so many other better math teachers out there than I am, but maybe I’ll get better as I explore the MathTwitterBlogoSphere!  I just wish there were more hours in the day to do all that I want!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. karenhyma
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 03:13:49

    I agree that it is hard to find the time to do all that we want. I teach at a small school and feel much like you. I want to branch out and “see” what other people are doing in their classrooms by following other teacher’s blogs. It is a double-edged sword. I get great ideas, but it also makes me feel inadequate as a teacher- I feel like there is so much more to learn and do. I hope you listen to your students and parents; they wouldn’t request you if you weren’t a great teacher!

    Reply

  2. Howard
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 04:05:36

    I’m impressed that you’re the only “upper level” teacher. I’m one of three AP teachers in my school (I do BC, another does AB, and the third does Stat), and I don’t know how I’d manage if I didn’t have them as resources to try ideas on. This is my first year teaching Calc BC, and I’m a bit overwhelmed.

    Reply

  3. mburwitz100
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 04:44:55

    I agree with the hours in the day. I can get mesmerized with pinterest, the foldables, the journals, the arts and crafts as well… and then the food!… But I love finding new ways to intrigue the students, and get them excited. Must be what Explorre MTBoS is all about! Have a great year

    Reply

Leave a Reply

